Why do atheists speak out? My teeny little video

(This isn’t the “Without a Doubt” video project I posted on before. That will be a long time from now.)

Yesterday on Twitter I was part of a long, pointless debate with an Evangelical dude who was 100% convinced that atheists speak out on social media because we “hate God,” etc.

Kind of as a joke, I created a little Twitter poll, and this morning I was touched by some of the responses.

I decided to make a little movie (only my third one, and in my phone. Not perfect, but I’m just getting started!)

It’s only 1.20 minutes.

I tweeted it, and I was sorta surprised the Evangelical dude responded, “I think I really needed to see this video. Thank you.”

nice job

It took me over a decade after leaving my church to even realize there had been something wrong with my head the whole time because of the church. I went through years of depression. To the Christians in my old church, it was confirmation. “Yep! Atheists are unhappy!”. But the depression started months before I even left the church. It was the church that caused it.

Essentially, fundamentalist religions teach you that you’re a worthless piece of shit. You are a sinner, dirty, tainted, flawed, evil, vile, unclean. The ONLY thing that can make you better is God. But it doesn’t last long because sooner or later you’re going to think a thought and you’re going to be as filthy as Hitler when you do. Then you need God to fix you again. EVERY good thing in my life, I had to thank God for, INCLUDING the good things I personally sacrificed to do! And every bad thing, including my depression, was my own fault. I LET myself become “devil oppressed”. I was depressed because I, like the piece of shit I was, let the devil in. THAT was the source of my depression for over a decade. I had been taught that the ONLY thing which gave me value was God, so when I rejected the faith, only the filth that was me was left.