Practical magic

In 1995 (I think) Andrew Wiles proved Fermat’s last theorem:
Screenshot_20240707-155714_Chrome

Wiles proved that it would never work for postive integers greater than 2

A great discovery, but does anyone know if it has any practical applications? Eg allow engineers to do stuff they couldn’t do before? Or similar?

Cheerz
RASILON🙂

Intetesting question. I’m not an engineer.

1 Like

Not that it matters, knowledge is beautiful for its own sake of course, I just wondered

Without defined values of a, b, and n, the equation is merely a formula and only informative as to the function.

Actually, that is the beauty of algebra. It describes mathematical functions in general terms without the restriction of defined values

We know that 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64,… is an exponential function
How that affects a steady growth rate of anything, is explained by Dr Albert Bartlett in his famous lecture on the “Exponential Function”

This is really important knowledge, and it is easy!

I can really recommend

Wow! Thanks will do!

Something that excited me in The Science in Science Fiction by Lanford et al (1982) was about proving mathematically that nothing can go faster than the speed of light.

If you change the equations to faster than light you end up with the square root of minus one. :heavy_check_mark:-1

Of course there’s no such number, so you find yourself doing maths with imaginary numbers!

@rasilon
I can’t help but like you. I am a retired engineer (electrical). I am very happy with my career choice. Why? Because as an engineer I worked with engineers. Imagine the beauty in today’s political environment of working in a “bubble” of the population that uses logic, math, reason, and civil discourse to solve problems. Now, I’m not saying that there weren’t the fair amount of oddball religious or disturbed individuals you are bound to encounter in life, but in this “bubble” they were “handled” pretty swiftly.