Portland

How is everyone?
I have been floating somewhere between a full blown atheist and someone who had a vague belief in some organizing, cognitive force since I was a young kid, but over the past few years I’ve really become more solidified in my atheistic views. I work as a lab technician in a research laboratory, focusing mainly on inflammatory pathways. Over the 7 year stint at my job, I have seen first hand many mysteries, and witnessed that if we take the time, effort and brainpower, suddenly the mysteries vanish and scientific results blossom.
I’m not outspoken about my atheism, but I also don’t hide my beliefs. I come from a Jewish household, have had a bar mitzvah, and although I don’t believe in a god, I do love the community and culture from whence I came. My oldest nephew (12) recently decided not to have a bar mitzvah since he too is an atheist. A very smart kid, he came to this conclusion on his own, and it’s been a pleasure to sit down with him recently and discuss the topic and let him know he’s not alone.
That’s enough for now, I’ll go check out some threads now,
Peace,
Eli

Don’t be shy about posting, Portland. We can really use some fresh blood just now.

How do you define atheism for your purposes?

Welcome Portland.

Portland, we’re dying over here ! ! ! You are the hope of the future of CFI.

Here’s your chance to shine.

Start an interesting post - tell us a story, challenge us, piss us off, anything buddy, . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

No one wants to hear anything I got to offer, so its on your shoulders.

That’s not true CC. I look forward to you pissing me off! (Kidding, I’m a kidder, ask anyone)

hehehe (as one semi kidder to another) [I miss the smilies]

Lausten hows your blog doing? Maybe you can add a link if you have anything interesting of late you’d like to share.

I thought you’d never ask.