Poet Prophet of Alternative Medicine

Time Magazine recently called Deepak Chopra one of the top 100 heroes and icons of THE CENTURY. His Quantum Healing is still one of the Amazon.com bestsellers after 25 years. I have read his book very carefully because I wanted to discuss it with my class - I am a physics professor - to make my students aware of the kinds of nonsense that make it to the top of popular bestselling lists. Here are some of the things I discovered:
–The second “edition” of Quantum Healing came out only one years after the first. The only difference between the two is the removal of the name of Maharishi Mahesh Yogi.
–Chopra uses discoveries of the scientific medicine to reach a point where there is no immediate answer to a medical puzzle, then he attacks scientific medicine for not being able to answer that puzzle!
–He cannot distinguish between parts and the whole, and concludes that a sugar molecule is intelligent!
–Using his line of reasoning for the power of mind over body, you can show that a sneeze can cause an earthquake!
There are many other absurd discussions and syllogisms that prove the emptiness of the “scientific basis” of alternative medicine - in this case Ayurveda. I have posted several articles here] that may be of interest.
Sam

I have to assume they included him under the category of icon because that doesn’t really mean much. An icon is just someone who is in the public consciousness even though that person may be a total idiot. Its hard for me to believe anyone at Time actually thinks of him as a hero. Still its scary that the public shows much interest in someone who is a complete fraud