Where is the wealth?

Now that capitalism has been exposed for the shell game it is, will there be changes?

I’m not sure how to research, and I have no economics background, so it won’t be scholarly, but I’m just thinking about why people want to “open the economy”. It’s not so they can go back to living paycheck to paycheck, unless they are short sighted. I mean the rich people, they have money and don’t need to work, but they want us idiots buying Doritos. What they need is, all those monthly checks to keep coming, gas going in to cars, the rent, insurance. Those are the big ones, and much of that expense is needed just so we can keep getting to our jobs to keep making those payments. The rat race.

But, if we stop paying rent, the building doesn’t fall down. If we stop using so much gas, gas actually gets cheaper. The machine that we’re feeding is giving money to banks, to the people who already own everything, so they can make up something I don’t need, and then I’ll buy that too. At some point, and we could have done this 50 years ago when there were only 6 billion people, we can just say, okay, that’s enough, we can feed everyone, let’s turn around, look at the mess we made in building this modern world and clean it up a little. Let’s value that, create jobs for that. And let’s bring stability to places that don’t have it, so they don’t feel the need to terrorize us or to have 6 babies in the hopes 2 survive.

I’m getting ahead of myself a little here. I guess the first thing is, let’s just quit depositing our wealth in an engine that doesn’t work. Is there an economic case to be made for that?

If the Dems get in power after the 2020 election, I think we will have a chance to support the stronger progressives in our political system and to press the Biden administration toward the basic principles of the Green New Deal.