What are some major technological failures that have occurred this century?

I’m an engineering student, looking for a major technological failure or event to do a failure analysis on. I’m really interested in Therac-25 but it’s a bit too outdated to do the analysis on and I’m super interested in medical devices but I need something that is well know enough that has a lot of credible information on. I’m stumped with ideas and all the topics I can find don’t have enough information so I’ve come to you all in hopes that anybody has a really interesting case… It does not have to be a medical device.

Thanks so much!

think about looking into ESSURE but the evidence that it failed to deliver is scanty. There were unknown reported side-effects but is now under scruteny

I’m not exactly sure what it is you’re asking about, but it did bring to mind testing of nuclear weapons in the upper atmosphere, which, as I heard, caused a 3 day total radio communications blackout worldwide when the US did it a few decades ago. It had something to do with an EMP in the upper atmosphere disrupting radio waves. I don’t know if that would qualify as a “technological failure”, but it was definitely the unexpected result of what was at the time a new “technology”.

Internet Explorer 6

Friendster (a social media player that played out after a promising start)

Segways - meh

Microsoft Tablet PCs (initiated in 2001, failed)

Wearable DVD Player glasses (never became popular)

MySpace (virtually killed off by Facebook)

I’m not sure of any complete failures, but some things that just haven’t panned out (so far):

hybrid cars

private space travel

renewable energies

cryptocurrency

Internet Explorer 6
Lol