Table top role playing games

As it seems it interests 2 or 3 people here :

Basically, the gamers meet around of a table, one of them being the game leader, called the Game master or GM, the others gamers being the players.

Each player create a character and all the characters form a group which live an adventure. The Game Master help them to build the story, playing the characters the group meet, be them an innkeeper, a wizard or a pack of wolves. He is also the rules keeper. In fact, he knows the world and has prepared a scenario.

There are hundreds of universes and rules systems. Characters are created according the rules of the system used and most of the times dices are rolled do determine if the character succeeds or fails when he tries to do something.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tabletop_role-playing_game

What pleases me so much in theses games that i have been playing for 30 years ?

• first, it is a cooperative game. Even if characters disagree sometimes, they must cooperate to succeed !
  • second, it is a complete change of scenery. a game session can last three hours or more and during this time, one forgets the worries of the daily life. More, it presents you other societies, other times, imaginary or not. It sparkled my interest for many things.
  • third, one creates characters and from game to game, The same characters can be used. The characters evolve, progress, meet people, some become friends, some ennemies. The universe in which they exist increases in richness and complexity. To give you an exemple, i masterminded a series of games in Conan world. We played regularly for two years. The characters visited the whole continent, finishing as nobles after helping to set a woman on the throne of Nemedia, one of the main kingdoms.
  • fourth and last, it is a social activity, cheap, and friendly. Due to my professional life, i have moved from town to town 4 times and in each town some of the people i have played with have become friends.