Howdy, I'm Gary

I’m Gary. A retired computer engineer (elect engin + comp sci) currently living near Charlotte, NC. I did live in Buffalo for several years. I was into triathlons. I was treasurer of the Buffalo Triathlon Club and finished the Lake Placid Ironman in 2013.

I also finished this several years ago: Science and Public

Welcome and congratulations !!!

We share some interests. Welcome. I have too many injuries to think about distance athletics anymore though.

Cool! Yeah, I did Placid when I was 60. Some people keep going but now at 70, I am just not motivated anymore. Oh, and the extra 30 pounds don’t help.

My first love was flying. I was a flight instructor in New Orleans and hold commercial instrument, single engine land and sea, multiengine land ratings. Manned aircraft are too expensive these days (fuel). Now I have a drone and take pictures and videos with that.

My computer/electronics work included teaching Object-oriented programming (C++), and designing/implementing embedded systems for flow meters and samplers for wastewater applications.

I am loving retirement! But I prefer to stay in my “bubble” as I find I don’t like people as much as I used to. I blame FOX “news”.

2 Likes

Hot dang, are you familiar with Waxhaw area south east of Charlotte?

Three years ago I figured I’d never get East of the Mississippi again, let alone the south, now, thanks to a couple grand kids I’m starting to almost feel familiar with the place.

Although most my time is still spent at home in southwestern Colorado.

Congrats on the triathlons!

I found it fascinating to discuss topics that cannot be reduced to algorithms.

You mean you’ve found topics outside the domain of math?

That’s interesting.
A friend of mine thinks everything can be reduced to math.
Have any thoughts on that notion?

Welcome. Feel free to jump in and join any conversation that interests you.

1 Like

Sure, I know Waxhaw. I live in Cornelius, which is north of Charlotte.