Dammit! I think I might be philosophical.

I have railed against philosophy a lot here. It’s no secret I don’t hold philosophy in high regard. But after mulling over my last post, I’m starting to think that many of my posts are more of a philosophical nature than I had realized. This has lead me to the conclusion that my preconceived notions about philosophy may be way off. As always, if I’m wrong, I want to know it. I don’t want to be the village idiot who posts a highly philosophical argument about why philosophy is bad.

So is anyone here willing to give me a little introductory lesson into what philosophy really is? Perhaps a telling definition that describes its true purpose and how it works? Lauston, I have no idea what your background is, but if I had to guess, I would say philosophy. You’re certainly vastly more familiar with it than me. You often post quotes I’ve heard, which seem to impart deep meaning and understanding, which I never realized were philosophy. That last one was Godel, I believe. Can you recommend any books to give me a good grasp of what philosophy actually is, how it’s used outside of a courtroom, an argument or a nonsense “proof” that God is real and what its purpose actually is? I would greatly appreciate it.

I’m a total amateur, but I owe a lot to this guy. He uses common language, which makes him fun. The first link inside this link is a speech that really helped me. I’ll suggest a couple books later.

There’s nothing wrong with being philosophical. Some of the greatest philosophers in history contributed to what we now call humanism or at least their philosophical works have.

Wittgenstein’s Poker – A fun history of 20th century philosophy, including Karl Popper. It tells a story of Popper and Wittgenstein meeting and the conversation gets a bit out of hand. With that as the background it goes in to great detail of these mid 20th century philosophies.