Book recommendations

Hi all,
I’m new and exploring things. Can you recommend some good books for someone who is moving away from conservative Christian faith? There are so many books I don’t know where to start. I have a divinity degree so I can dig deep in philosophy. I just want to start with a few books that help me think.
Thank you and thanks for welcoming me.

I recommend Daniel C. Dennett. Excellent philosophy.
Welcome to the forum!
Danny

Dennett, like others like him (Harris, Hitchens, etc) are too controversial and too anti anti anti. I recommend taking it easy. Watch a few good secular humanist movies (not overtly so, but in message) like Bird Cage, Pleasantville, and the like. I once put together a 12 step program for recovering conservatives and the main step was to watch Bird Cage over and over until you get it. :wink:

Hi all, I'm new and exploring things. Can you recommend some good books for someone who is moving away from conservative Christian faith? There are so many books I don't know where to start. I have a divinity degree so I can dig deep in philosophy. I just want to start with a few books that help me think. Thank you and thanks for welcoming me.
i found "Why I am Not Christian" by Bertrand Russell very helpful. It is not a book, but an essay often published with other essays by Russell on religion. It is straightforward and easy to read. It is also a classic. Why I Am Not a Christian and Other Essays on Religion and Related Subjects [Paperback] Bertrand Russell (Author), Paul Edwards (Editor) Is available from Amazon. You also can usually find the essay in other books in public libraries. Russell wrote a lot about religion philosophy and mathematics. Another good book by Russell, The Scientific Outlook. Lois