Introduction of Me

My name is Aditya and I’m from India. I hope this is the introduction platform . I am 65/m and at this late age, I have resumed my education. Right now I am an undergrad in Philosophy and have completed 2 years. Should grad this year. I have just discovered Richard Dawkins a few years ago and am beginning to understand him more. The 4 Horsemen took me forward. I realized something : Atheism and Theology both believe in each others non-existence, etc. And I realized that they are both reducible to the word belief.

I agree that there must be a rationalist approach versus hand me down beliefs.

My best wishes to you all.
Aditya Raj Kapoor
(Lord FuseBox-thats my bikers call sign)

Atheism is a lack of belief. Can you explain what you mean by the above statement?

Welcome here Aditya

I understand what you mean. Atheism is the belief that no god exists.

You are right in the sense that it cannot be scientifically demonstrated

1 Like

noun

1. a person who disbelieves or lacks belief in the existence of God or gods.

“he is a committed atheist”

I got this from the net.
I’m just wondering. Both believe in something that is and isn’t. Both are equidistant from each.

This is not to say that atheists are deists or vice Versa. This just to wonder. The word belief or believe is common and part of JTB.

I am not reducing the effect of any one side. I’m just remarking.

Yes, there is no belief because it’s a lack of belief, so you can’t say it boils down to belief. There are two types of atheists- one who lacks belief (weak or implicit or innate) and one who believes there is no god (strong or explicit).

http://www.strongatheism.net/faq/

Blockquote • Don’t ‘strong atheism’ and ‘atheism’ mean the same thing anyway?

No. Atheism (also called “weak atheism”) is a lack of belief in the existence of a god or gods. It is a personal proposition, that in our minds one particular belief does not exist.