Hi, new here.

Hello.
I have been self described atheist for years now (though that may not be fully technically accurate) and my current world/societal/moral views would probably most align me with humanism. I’ve joined here to engage in friendly debates involving morals, and common perception of them, as well as look for guidance in learning more about the world and the global state of human affairs.
I’ve read the Humanist Manifesto III, and agree, in a nutshell.
I plan on reading Corliss Lamont’s “The Philosophy of Humanism” to learn more, although if someone has a better suggestion I would like to hear it.
Aside from that, I understand a large part of Humanism is viewing the world (and morality) from a scientific stand point. Although I am far from a scientist (I have a tech diploma, that’s about it, lol) this viewpoint is one of the largest I agree with. The main reason I am an atheist is due to my basic grasp of probability theory.
Here’s perhaps a fun question for any who care to answer it; what do you think the odds are that their is intelligent life, aside from what is found here on earth, in existence today? My understanding is that while we have no direct evidence for it, we also have no direct evidence against it, so… 50/50?
Anyway that’s about it. Next time I post I’ll try to come up with something a little more interesting. ; )
Laters

Welcome Merc,
I don’t know the odds, but I think that 50/50 is only a starting guess. The chance that intelegent life is or has happened somewhere else are probably more likely than 50/50 with the vast amount of space and planets that likely exist in the universe. The odds that any of them can discover any of the others ones is probably much worse odds.

Hi Merc,
Welcome from another newbie and Seasons Greetings!
We have a discussion going on that you might be interested in about the probability of life on the “Richard Dawkins endorses intelligent design……” thread (no he doesn’t!)