What do moral philosophy and the science of morality study?

As I understand them,

Moral philosophy seeks answers to what our goals and values ought to be as suggested by three big questions: “What is good?”, “How should I live?”, and “What are my obligations?”

The science of morality seeks answers to the question “Why do cultural moral norms and our moral sense exist and how do they work?” and is silent on what our goals and values ought to be.

I have not been able to find such definitions in the literature. Corrections or alternatives are welcome.

And is it more useful to think of them as overlapping domains OR as distinct domains with moral philosophy studying what morality ‘ought’ to be and the science of morality studying what morality ‘is’? I prefer thinking of them as having non-overlapping domains.

Welcome Markus. My internet was down last night, but I’ll be getting caught on this conversation soon.

I’m not that good at making these types of distinctions. I kind of wing it, overlapping or separating as it seems fit.

Like when thinking about history. You could make a blanket statement that slavery is immoral, any time, anywhere. And, I think it’s fair to understand and have compassion for people who were indoctrinated into a slave culture. There was nothing wrong with them mentally, they just grew up being told slavery was right and justified by God, and they did not see slaves as the same as they saw themselves.

The problems in separating these are when we judge the people in that time based on our moral standards now. Or maybe I should say moral knowledge. The philosophy of non-slavery is widely taught, so you can’t claim to not know about it, and the new science of DNA supports the logic. Judging people from 500 years ago as if they knew all that and heard all that, would be like judging a small child because they are fighting over toys.

Hi lausten